Committee details

Herefordshire schools forum

Purpose of committee

The Schools Forum


The Schools Forum is established by virtue of 47A of the School Standards and Framework Act 1998 (as amended by the Education Act 2002) and Regulations.


The Membership is made up of Schools Members (head teachers or governors) drawn from maintained schools and academies on a broadly proportionate basis based on pupil numbers in each category and Non-school Members (Early Years representatives, Diocesan Authorities, Trade Union Representatives and a 16-19 provider representative.). 


The term of office of members is three years.  The current term runs from 1 September 2018 to 31 August 2021.  There is no limit on the number of terms that may be served.


Meetings are open to the public.  Agenda papers are published and available on the website at least one week in advance of a meeting.


The current constitution of the Herefordshire Schools Forum may be read at


The Department for Education Schools Forum operational and good practice guide includes information on the constitutional and organisational requirements for schools forums including the powers of schools forums and the arrangements for the election and nomination of members.




  • David Bennett    Academies
  • Christine Bryan    Academies
  • Pat Burbidge    Archdiocese of Cardiff
  • Julie Cohn  (Chairperson)  Academy Special School Representative
  • Alex Davies    Academies
  • Nicki Emmett    Academies
  • Nicki Gilbert    LA Special Schools
  • Georgie Griffin    Secondary Governors
  • Edward Gwillim    16-19 Providers
  • Joe Hedges    Primary Governors
  • Martin Henton    LA Maintained Secondary Schools
  • Ali Jackson    Early Years Representative
  • Sue Jenkins    Local Authority Maintained Primary School
  • Paul Jennings    Academies
  • Steve Kendrick    Local Authority Maintained Primary School (with Nursery)
  • Tim Knapp    Academies
  • Tracey Kneale    Local Authority Maintained Primary School
  • Chris Lewandowski    Trade Unions
  • Sian Lines    Diocese of Hereford
  • Rose Lloyd    Early Years
  • Norman Moon    Local Authority Maintained Primary Schools
  • Paul Deneen    Trade Unions
  • Kathy Weston  (Vice-chairperson)  Local Authority Maintained Primary School

Contact information

Support officer: Sarah Buffrey, Governance Services.

Phone: 01432 260176